The Global Mail - Syndicated Storieshttp://static.theglobalmail.org/rss/Feature Stories from The Global Mailen-usWed, 05 Feb 2014 15:10:03 +1100Pipe Dreamshttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/pipe-dreams/802/Read an exclusive extract from ‘BOOM: Oil, Money, Cowboys, Strippers, and the Energy Rush That Could Change America Forever’, published in collaboration with The Global Mail.Wed, 05 Feb 2014 15:10:03 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/pipe-dreams/802/Stealing The Great Rainforests Of PNGhttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/stealing-the-great-rainforests-of-png/796/Five million hectares of its jungle is under threat from foreign land grabs and back-door logging. The PNG Government is under intense pressure to tear up illegal leases – but the chainsaws haven’t paused.Wed, 05 Feb 2014 11:30:24 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/stealing-the-great-rainforests-of-png/796/Where Do Asylum Seekers Turn?http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/where-do-asylum-seekers-turn/827/Explore a new Global Mail visualisation showing asylum-seeker activity across the world.Thu, 30 Jan 2014 18:06:52 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/where-do-asylum-seekers-turn/827/The Global Mail STAFF STATEMENThttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/the-global-mail-staff-statement/826/Graeme Wood advised the management and staff of The Global Mail yesterday that he is unable to continue funding the digital journalism producer after February 20.Thu, 30 Jan 2014 16:53:34 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/the-global-mail-staff-statement/826/Greater Powers To Deport On Nauruhttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/greater-powers-to-deport-on-nauru/825/New legislation allows Nauru’s justice minister greater powers to deport without notice or grounds.Wed, 29 Jan 2014 18:01:28 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/greater-powers-to-deport-on-nauru/825/Ding! You Lost! Congratulations!http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/ding-you-lost-congratulations/822/In the latest Global Mail podcast, we investigate the addictive magic of poker machines – and find an answer that involves Australia, positive reinforcement, and 100-year-old rats.Wed, 29 Jan 2014 13:07:24 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/ding-you-lost-congratulations/822/China’s Media Censorship Is A Return To Maoism: Report http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/chinas-media-censorship-is-a-return-to-maoism-report/824/Hopes for freer debate have been quashed under President Xi Jinping’s leadership, according to an in-depth report by the International Federation of Journalists Asia Pacific.Tue, 28 Jan 2014 21:32:42 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/chinas-media-censorship-is-a-return-to-maoism-report/824/Nauru Heads For Emergency Rulehttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/nauru-heads-for-emergency-rule/821/A legal controversy has brought the tiny country to the brink of full-blown crisis.Tue, 28 Jan 2014 10:52:34 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/nauru-heads-for-emergency-rule/821/Abbott’s Davos Momenthttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/abbotts-davos-moment/820/You have one chance to speak to the world’s most powerful people. What do you say?Fri, 24 Jan 2014 18:31:22 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/abbotts-davos-moment/820/Page One China: Offshore Money Plankton http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/page-one-china-offshore-money-plankton/819/Publishers globally seized on leaked data showing the offshore money-shuffling among China’s rich and powerful, but for mainland media it was safer to stick to the boilerplate.Fri, 24 Jan 2014 17:44:18 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/page-one-china-offshore-money-plankton/819/Unlocking China’s Secretshttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/unlocking-chinas-secrets/818/Explore for yourself more than 37,000 tax havens clients from China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, in the ICIJ Offshore Leaks Database.Fri, 24 Jan 2014 12:31:06 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/unlocking-chinas-secrets/818/Nauru To Investigate Itself Over Magistrate Sackinghttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/nauru-to-investigate-itself-over-magistrate-sacking/817/In a bizarre development, the Nauruan government has launched an investigation into the same allegations it relied on to march Peter Law out of the country under police guard earlier this week.Thu, 23 Jan 2014 18:59:41 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/nauru-to-investigate-itself-over-magistrate-sacking/817/The Coal Mine And Maules Creek – Ecological Haven or Whitehaven?http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/the-coal-mine-and-maules-creek-ecological-haven-or-whitehaven/816/Work has already begun on Whitehaven’s Maules Creek Coal Project in NSW’s Leard State Forest. In the tiny community of Maules Creek, though, farmers complain of falling water tables and the indigenous Gameroi people say the company will be bulldozing burial sites. And growing numbers of are camping out in protest against the mine’s environmental impact on the state forest. But with a government green light, does the company have to care?Thu, 23 Jan 2014 18:30:42 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/the-coal-mine-and-maules-creek-ecological-haven-or-whitehaven/816/What China’s Off-the-Books Figures Mean for Australiahttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/what-chinas-off-the-books-figures-mean-for-australia/814/“No country will ever replace China at number one in economic importance to Australia,” says a former ambassador to Beijing. So should Australia demand better financial reporting standards within – and across – national borders?Thu, 23 Jan 2014 08:09:11 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/what-chinas-off-the-books-figures-mean-for-australia/814/How I Lost My Offshore Oil Empirehttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/how-i-lost-my-offshore-oil-empire/808/He had a multi-billion-dollar oil pipeline in China and dozens of companies in the Caribbean. Then his cosy and convenient secret system backfired on him.Thu, 23 Jan 2014 08:09:06 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/how-i-lost-my-offshore-oil-empire/808/ASIO Took It – But Was It Timor’s or Australia’s?http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/asio-took-it-but-was-it-timors-or-australias/815/At the International Court of Justice, a judge asked, basically, whether big, rich Australia had pinched stuff that belonged to tiny, poor East Timor?Wed, 22 Jan 2014 12:36:38 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/asio-took-it-but-was-it-timors-or-australias/815/Offshore Leaks China: How We Did Ithttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/offshore-leaks-china-how-we-did-it/811/A multinational team of journalists spent months combing through secret tax haven records revealing offshore holdings of China’s rich and powerful.Wed, 22 Jan 2014 08:12:10 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/offshore-leaks-china-how-we-did-it/811/China’s Elite Master the Secret Offshore Cash Stashhttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/chinas-elite-master-the-secret-offshore-cash-stash/806/China’s rich and powerful are big players in the offshore havens that peddle secrecy and tax shelters.Wed, 22 Jan 2014 08:12:06 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/chinas-elite-master-the-secret-offshore-cash-stash/806/Trial By Media Release http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/trial-by-media-release/800/Nauru’s Chief Justice Geoffrey Eames QC, an Australian citizen, has dismissed as “laughable” the Pacific island Republic’s explanation for sacking and deporting without notice Nauru’s sole magistrate – another Australian, Peter Law.Tue, 21 Jan 2014 21:56:22 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/trial-by-media-release/800/Ghosts and Memory Sticks: Court Hears East Timor Case Against ASIO Swoophttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/ghosts-and-memory-sticks-court-hears-east-timor-case-against-asio-swoop/813/Inside the International Court of Justice on day one of East Timor’s moves to undo the ASIO swoop.Tue, 21 Jan 2014 14:47:19 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/ghosts-and-memory-sticks-court-hears-east-timor-case-against-asio-swoop/813/“We’re Handing Refugees Over To A Bunch Of Cowboys”http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/were-handing-refugees-over-to-a-bunch-of-cowboys/812/Nauru, one of Australia’s offshore refugee processing sites, is in chaos after deporting its only magistrate and revoking the visa of its chief justice, both Australian citizens. But according to refugee advocate Julian Burnside QC, Australia’s government is simply letting this happen.Mon, 20 Jan 2014 16:30:26 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/were-handing-refugees-over-to-a-bunch-of-cowboys/812/Inside the Offshore Fraud: The Villains and Victims of Australia’s Biggest Pension Scamhttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/inside-the-offshore-fraud-the-villains-and-victims-of-australias-biggest-pension-scam/789/The only person jailed for Australia’s largest pension fraud, Shawn Richard, is expected to walk out of Cooma jail on January 21. Here – from previously unreported evidence, obtained by The Global Mail – Richard describes Jack Flader, the mysterious mastermind of the audacious scheme that siphoned millions from Australian investors.Fri, 17 Jan 2014 19:21:38 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/inside-the-offshore-fraud-the-villains-and-victims-of-australias-biggest-pension-scam/789/Incriminating Evidence? Get Lost!http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/incriminating-evidence-get-lost/810/If government information goes missing – say, CCTV footage of alleged police misconduct – what’s a freedom-of-information watchdog to do?Fri, 17 Jan 2014 19:20:49 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/incriminating-evidence-get-lost/810/Hostile Environment: TPP Green Chapter “Virtually Meaningless”http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/hostile-environment-tpp-green-chapter-virtually-meaningless/807/Australia and the US object to the treaty's climate change text – does it matter?Thu, 16 Jan 2014 19:40:50 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/hostile-environment-tpp-green-chapter-virtually-meaningless/807/Introducing the TGM SecureDrop Vaulthttp://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/introducing-the-tgm-securedrop-vault/797/A new way get truth to the public, in a Global Mail partnership with the Freedom of the Press Foundation.Sat, 11 Jan 2014 09:53:32 +1100http://static.theglobalmail.org/feature/introducing-the-tgm-securedrop-vault/797/